Dreamweaver Delete Confirmation Warns Links to a File Exist After They’ve Been Removed

Standard

Here’s the scenario: You remove links from pages (and templates) that point to a file you are about to delete. After careful inspection you’ve determined all of the links are gone. However, when you delete the file from within Dreamweaver a confirmation dialog appears stating that other pages are still linked to the file.

This is an internal cache issue. It seems that Dreamweaver doesn’t always update the cache to track links within a site.

At this point you could just continue and let it delete the file. However, the safest method is to simply close Dreamweaver and then re-open it. This way you’ll know if you missed any links because it will again show if there are any pages linking to the file, but this time the cache will have been updated.

I’ve seen this in happen Dreamweaver CS5 for Mac and I’m certain I’ve also seen it in previous versions, too.

Improve Dreamweaver FTP Performance By Disabling Design Notes

Standard

I was having frequent time-out issues, especially when trying to upload to third-party hosts. Finally, I may have found a tip that appears to have significantly improved FTP performance and reduced upload times. Simply disabling design notes has made a quantifiable difference.  I don’t use Dreamweaver features that require the notes so disabling them wasn’t an issue.

Though the tip was for Adobe Dreamweaver CS4 and earlier it worked in the CS5 version that I’m using.

From an Adobe Knowledgebase Article:

Disable Upload Design Notes in Site Definition

Sometimes having the Upload Design Notes option checked in the site definition can cause problems. Uncheck this option and see if the problem persists: Site > Manage Sites, select your site, then click Edit > Advanced tab > Design Notes category > uncheck “Upload Design Notes for sharing”.