Here’s the scenario: You remove links from pages (and templates) that point to a file you are about to delete. After careful inspection you’ve determined all of the links are gone. However, when you delete the file from within Dreamweaver a confirmation dialog appears stating that other pages are still linked to the file.

This is an internal cache issue. It seems that Dreamweaver doesn’t always update the cache to track links within a site.

At this point you could just continue and let it delete the file. However, the safest method is to simply close Dreamweaver and then re-open it. This way you’ll know if you missed any links because it will again show if there are any pages linking to the file, but this time the cache will have been updated.

I’ve seen this in happen Dreamweaver CS5 for Mac and I’m certain I’ve also seen it in previous versions, too.

Category:
Apple, OS X, Software, Tips
Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: